Climate Policy Round Table

The purpose of the Climate Policy Round Table is to create a common understanding of how Finland can make a just transition to a carbon neutral society within an accelerated timeframe. The Climate Policy Round Table does not make decisions; instead, its work aims to support the preparation and implementation of climate policy at the national level.

Climate Policy Round Table was appointed in February 2020 and it will carry out its activities during the current government term.

Composition of The Climate Policy Round Table


Prime Minister Sanna Marin

Vice Chairs

Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Krista Mikkonen
Minister of Economic Affairs Mika Lintilä
Sara Nyman, youth climate delegate, Finnish National Youth Council Allianssi
Jouni Keronen, CEO, Climate Leadership Coalition


Ari Alatossava, Chief Executive, Municipality of Ii
Jarkko Eloranta, Chair, Central Organisation of Finnish Trade Unions SAK
Sture Fjäder, Chair, Confederation of Unions for Professional and Managerial Staff in Finland Akava
Laura Hildén, Chair, Agenda 2030 Youth Group
Jyri Häkämies, Managing Director, Confederation of Finnish Industries EK
Timo Jaatinen, General Director, Finnish Forest Industries Federation
Tuomas Aslak Juuso, Vice-President, Sámi Parliament in Finland
Mari Kiviniemi, Managing Director, Federation of Finnish Commerce
Rilli Lappalainen, Director of Advocacy and Policy, Finnish Development NGOs Fingo
Jukka Leskelä, Managing Director, Finnish Energy
Päivi Lundvall, Chief Executive, Finnish Association for Nature Conservation
Juha Marttila, Chair, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners MTK
Salka Orivuori, Development Manager, Martha Organization
Antti Palola, Chair, Finnish Confederation of Professionals STTK
Timo Reina, Deputy Managing Director, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities
Suvi Rihtniemi, CEO, Helsinki Region Transport HSL
Liisa Rohweder, CEO, WWF Finland
Sampo Seppänen, Economist, Federation of Finnish Enterprises
Helena Soimakallio, Executive Director, Technology Industries of Finland
Tiina Vyyryläinen, Head of Policy Team, Consumers’ Union of Finland

Representatives of Expert Bodies

Research Professor Hannele Korhonen, Finnish Climate Panel
Professor Eeva Furman, Expert Panel for Sustainable Development
Mari Pantsar, Director, “resource-wise and carbon-neutral society” theme area, Sitra

More information

Merja Turunen, ympäristöneuvos 
Ministry of the Environment, Ympäristönsuojeluosasto, Climate 0295250387