The Ministry of the Environment wants to be an effective and influential player and a good cooperation partner in securing sustainable development, a good environment to live in and biodiversity, both for the present and future generations.

The three departments and two support units of the ministry – Department of the Natural Environment, Department of the Built Environment, Environmental Protection Department, Administration and International Affairs and Information and Communications – are responsible for legislative and policy preparation for the Government and Parliament concerning the climate, communities, built environment, housing, biodiversity and sustainable use of natural resources, and environmental protection.

The Ministry of the Environment is led by the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Emma Kari.