Plastics Roadmap for Finland: Reduce, refuse, recycle and replace


The Plastics Roadmap for Finland 2.0 is an extensive national programme that aims for a breakthrough in the circular economy of plastics by 2030.

The Plastics Roadmap is a package of actions by which we will

1.    reduce littering of the environment and other environmental harm caused by plastics,
2.    avoid unnecessary consumption of plastics and promote the reuse of plastics,
3.    enhance the recycling of plastics and recyclability of plastic products and
4.    replace virgin plastic manufactured from fossil raw materials with recycled plastics or sustainably produced renewable materials.

The first phase of the programme started in 2018 and the Plastics Roadmap was updated in 2022.

Actions included in the Plastics Roadmap 

  1. Reduce littering and avoid unnecessary consumption
  2. Significantly increase the recovery of plastic waste
  3. Introduce diverse and adequate recycling solutions for recovered plastics
  4. Considerably improve the recyclability of plastic products and the use of recycled plastic
  5. Invest in solutions that replace plastics 
  6. Boost a circular plastics economy in construction
  7. Promote the recycling and replacement of plastics in agriculture and horticulture
  8. Promote solutions to the plastics challenge in international cooperation
  9. Export expertise and solutions
  10. Enhance research knowledge on negative health and environmental impacts of plastics and solutions to these
  11. Cross-cutting measures 

Organisations implementing the Plastics Roadmap

The Plastics Roadmap is implemented by a broad network of different kinds of organisations. The Ministry of the Environment has appointed a cooperation network and secretariat to support and boost the work on the measures. Besides these, the Plastics Jury composed of active private individuals takes part in the development and evaluation of the actions under the Plastics Roadmap.

Organisations involved in the work on the Plastics Roadmap

Business Finland, Finnish Food and Drinks Industries’ Federation, Finnish Commerce Federation, Natural Resources Institute Finland LUKE, Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry, Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners MTK, Martha Association, Finnish Forest Industries Federation, Finnish Plastics Industries Federation, Confederation of Finnish Construction Industries RT, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Finnish Innovation Fund Sitra, Finnish Circular Power KIVO, Finnish Environment Institute SYKE, Finnish Packaging Producers Ltd, VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare THL, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of the Environment, Recycling Industries of Finland and WWF Finland.

Cooperation network

Chair: Jarmo Muurman, Ministry of the Environment
Vice-chair: Jyrki Alkio, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment

Members: Johanna Nykyri (Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry), Mikko Paunio (Ministry of Social Affairs and Health), Krista Sinisalo (Ministry of Finance), Anna-Maija Pajukallio (Ministry of the Environment), Vesa Kärhä (Finnish Plastics Industries Federation), Pia Vilenius (Chemical Industry Federation of Finland), Mika Surakka (Finnish Plastics Recycling Ltd), Pekka Tommola (Finnish Packaging Producers Ltd), Satumaija Levon (Finnish Food and Drinks Industries’ Federation), Aaron Vuola (Finnish Forest Industries Federation), Tuuli Kunnas (Confederation of Finnish Construction Industries RT), Mikko Somersalmi (Finnish Property Owners Rakli), Marja Ola (Finnish Commerce Federation), Jutta Laine-Ylijoki (Finnish Circular Power KIVO), Mia Nores (Recycling Industries of Finland), Heikki Aro (Central Union of Agricultural Producers and Forest Owners MTK), Iiris Kokkonen (WWF Finland), Heidi Holmroos (Martha Association), Tiina Vyyryläinen (Consumers’ Union of Finland), Sampo Tukiainen (Business Finland).


Secretary-General: Merja Saarnilehto, Ministry of the Environment

Members: Mika Honkanen (Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment), Sari Kauppi (Finnish Environment Institute SYKE), Panu Rantakokko (Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare THL), Juha-Matti Katajajuuri (Natural Resources Institute Finland LUKE), Jarmo Ropponen (VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland).

Plastics Jury

The Plastics Jury boosts the work of the cooperation network with questions, proposals and comments and participates especially in measures where the opinion and motivation of private individuals are important. The aim of the Jury’s activities is to make the people’s voice heard when seeking solutions to the plastics challenge and to promote the implementation of the Plastics Roadmap.

Members: Mari Granström, Henna Hautakangas, Aino Huotari, Johanna Kohvakka and Otso Sillanaukee.

More information

Merja Saarnilehto, Senior Ministerial Adviser 
Ministry of the Environment, Climate and Environmental Protection Department, Circular Economy Telephone:0295250259   Email Address: