Skip to content

Parliamentary group for stronger implementation of Finland’s climate targets with long-term perspective

Ministry of the Environment
Publication date 15.9.2022 13.38
Press release

On Thursday 15 September, the Government appointed a group composed of the parties in Parliament to monitor the implementation of the national climate policy. The aim is to make sure that the climate neutrality target will be reached and the measures to be taken will be fair and just. The group will also discuss the climate policy outlines to be needed in the future. Each party in Parliament has a representative in the monitoring group.

“The Climate Act sets as the target that Finland will be carbon neutral by 2035. The work to achieve this has started well, but we must make sure that it will continue across government terms. This requires that all parties represented in Parliament are committed to climate work, and the purpose of the parliamentary monitoring group is to support this process,” says Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Maria Ohisalo.

The monitoring group will discuss and follow the plans related to climate change adaptation, their implementation and actions taken under them. The group will also discuss the findings of climate science, in particular, on the basis of reports of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change IPCC and the Finnish Climate Change Panel. The role of the group is to support the national implementation and preparation processes, not to make any decisions. As the work proceeds, the group may consult experts and stakeholders as considered necessary.

The tasks of the monitoring group for climate policy are permanent in nature but, at this point, it was considered appropriate to appoint the group until the end of this government term. The term of the group will end on 30 June 2023. It will meet three times during autumn 2022 and once or twice in spring 2023.



Maria Ohisalo, Minister of the Environment and Climate Change

Social Democratic Parliamentary Group
Johan Kvarnström
Niina Malm (deputy member)

Finns Party Parliamentary Group
Lulu Ranne
Jani Mäkelä (deputy member)

National Coalition Party Parliamentary Group
Saara-Sofia Sirén
Kai Mykkänen (deputy member)

Centre Party Parliamentary Group
Hannu Hoskonen
Hanna Kosonen (deputy member)

Green Parliamentary Group
Inka Hopsu
Satu Hassi (or Atte Harjanne) (deputy member)

Left Alliance Parliamentary Group
Mai Kivelä
Suldaan Said Ahmed (deputy member)

Swedish Parliamentary Group
Mikko Ollikainen
Anders Adlercreutz (deputy member)

Christian Democratic Parliamentary Group
Peter Östman
Sari Tanus (deputy member)

Liike Nyt Movement’s Parliamentary Group
Harry Harkimo

Permanent experts
Markku Ollikainen, Chair of the Finnish Climate Change Panel
Secretary-General Jarmo Muurman, Senior Environmental Advisor, Ministry of the Environment


Riikka Yliluoma
Special Adviser to Minister of the Environment and Climate Change Maria Ohisalo
tel. +358 295 250 091
[email protected]

Jarmo Muurman
Senior Ministerial Adviser, Secretary-General of the parliamentary monitoring group for climate policy
tel. +358 295 250 185
[email protected]

Maria Ohisalo